TSW: Leaving Kingsmouth

2014-09-20_00002

I’ve finally done it. For the first time in my 3 attempts to play The Secret World, I’ve actually finished Kingsmouth! I’ve never quite gelled with the game enough to get through this first zone before, but this time I’ve found myself quite immersed in the experience. I have been taking it very slowly, with only a few play sessions a week, which I guess is demonstrated by the face it’s taken me about six weeks to get this far.

The unusually dense manner in which content is dispersed has also contributed. There’s a surprising amount to do in the first area, and it really isn’t all that big in landmass terms either. You can traverse the whole zone in a few minutes, but you will be spending a lot of time running back and forth through the same areas, which I have to say makes it somewhat inexplicable that enemies continue to aggro even when you’re considerably more powerful than them. It leaves me with the impression that it’s a design decision to slow players down a bit and throttle their progression through the storyline. But some missions like the investigation ones, and even a few from the main storyline, have an indeterminate completion time, simply because they rely on smarts not numbers to progress. The time taken to decipher a biblical quotation may vary! Some investigation missions have taken me hours to finish, but I never find them a slog and I usually don’t look up any walkthroughs unless I’m totally stumped and even then I just try and find a clue. So, some people may blast through Kingsmouth, but for me and the way I approach the game, it’s taken a while!

2014-09-20_00006

When I started playing The Secret World again my plan was to think of it as a single player game. This has helped my ability to not feel bad about only jumping in every now and again, and to feel like I can enjoy the game at a slow pace, hearing every line of dialogue, trying to complete every mission, and see every sight. I think this has been a big part of why I’ve had such a lot of fun with the game, but I can’t help but feel the draw of group content. I’m becoming more and more inclined towards finding a group of players I can join, but I don’t feel like I want to commit a lot of free time to scheduled grouping times. I’m keen to see the dungeon content though, just because I don’t want to miss out on any of the games storylines, so maybe I’ll just try some PUGs in the lower ‘level’ dungeons for now.

I’m really excited to really start digging into The Savage Coast, the games next zone. It looks very dark and moody, even more so than Kingsmouth, and the variety of enemies is a nice change after killing all the zombies all the time! The few characters I’ve met so far seem interesting, and it already looks as though the density of content in Kingsmouth is going to be mirrored in all of the other zones too. I’m also just starting to reach a point where I have more skills unlocked to start making better builds. I’m currently working on an affliction/penetration blood magic and blade build. It’s early days as I don’t have a lot of the skills I’ll need yet, but I’m pretty close to some build defining ones.

2014-09-20_00013

Overall, I’m still really enjoying the game, and a casual approach has helped greatly I feel. I may get around to giving some of the group content a try soon, but it depends if I get the opportunity. I’m still glad I’ve subscribed as the knowledge that I’m building up store currency to buy more content whenever I’m ready for it is nice, and the benefits are ok as well. An hour long XP booster you can use every sixteen hours, a 10% store discount, and a some free items and bonus points to spend on limited store items.

Feel free to add me, my character name is “Lucks” and I play on Arcadia, Templar side. And I still have so many zones and all the DLC to go!

5 thoughts on “TSW: Leaving Kingsmouth

  1. I really enjoyed the 5 man dungeons in TSW. The extremely simple rotations free up a lot of (brain) processing power, allowing the fights themselves to be extremely diverse and engaging.

    Like

    • Funnily enough I had my first opportunity to run Polaris yesterday. I really enjoyed it, and was surprised how quickly we got through it. It only took about twenty five minutes all in all. I’m certainly excited to see the rest of them now.

      Like

      • Also note that you indeed can start dungeoning in TSW quite early. For Polaris, you’re good to go in QL1/2 equipment. Hell Risen (the dungeon of the Savage Coast) wants QL3/4 equipment. And each of them gives gear of slightly higher QL and blue rarity, so visiting them is worth it at low levels. 🙂

        Like

  2. So the solo play experience has been rewarding? I haven’t even bought this box, but been itching more and more for it. However, I am stuck in mostly solo play land so been holding off because of that alone.

    Like

    • It’s the games strongest element I’d say. Group content seems more like the hook for long term players. It’s basically a good rpg/adventure game with multiplayer options in my view. I’m only doing dungeons in order to see all the game but it’s totally optional.

      It’s definitely worth a look as its pretty unique, but it’s far from perfect.

      Like

Leave a comment