Gaming Questionnaire

You may have noticed that recently, quite a few bloggers have taken the gaming questionnaire Jasyla from Cannot be Tamed has crated. This strikes me as an excellent opportunity to give readers a bit more information on their bloggers history with video games, their highs and their lows. So,  I thought I’d take the opportunity to fill it out for myself!

When did you start playing video games?

When I was very young. Maybe 3 or 4. So around about the late 80s.

What is the first game you remember playing?

A title called Shadow of the Beast, on the Commodore 64. I distinctly recall finding the game very dark and a little frightening at such a young age (thanks Mum and Dad!).

PC or Console?

Console to begin with. I had spells with PC gaming in the mid to late 90s, but I now play exclusively on the PC. I did own an Xbox 360, but I gave it away owing to it merely gathering dust.

XBox, PlayStation, or Wii?

I have absolutely no horse in this race, but if I was buying a console today, it would almost certainly be the Playstation 4.

What’s the best game you’ve ever played?

Wow, that’s quite a question. I think I’m going to cheat a little and give a few, as I’m never an all out favourite kind of guy. I’d opt for Bioshock, Oblivion, Dark Souls and Resident Evil 4. But, I’m sure I’m forgetting something.

00439934-photo-the-elder-scrolls-iv-oblivion

What’s the worst game you’ve ever played?

Again, not that easy for me to answer as I don’t think of it in those sort of objective terms. I remember True Crime: LA Stories being particularly rubbish though.

Name a game that was popular/critically adored that you just didn’t like.

This probably isn’t going to make me very popular but I just can’t get into Civilisation. I’m a fan of 4x games in general. I like the space themed ones especially. And, grand strategy type games really appeal to me. I just find Civ a little boring, and playing single player, you seem to have to decide not to go for certain victories as it’s boring and too easy to achieve. I’m probably wilfully misunderstanding there, but for some reason Civ is one of those games that has just never clicked for me.

Name a game that was poorly received that you really like.

Eve Online. It has absolutely terrible reviews. If that seems like a rubbish choice, I’ll go for Shadowrun Returns which had quite middling reviews but I thought was excellent. I don’t buy too many games that have been universally panned. But I will buy a game if there’s a concession that there’s something worth playing in there but it just has bad graphics/interface/is complicated etc.

Who is your favourite game protagonist?

Lee in The Walking Dead game from Telltale. He was my Lee, and I loved him.

Describe your perfect video game.

Something unique which adequately replicates an experience. For example, a game that really captured the feeling of flying a ship across space with a crew, getting into adventures along the way. And in a way that’s more complete than something like FTL. That sort of thing.

What video game character do have you have a crush on?

None. I am a husk of a man.

What game has the best music?

Cave Story. Barely played it but I love the music. Other than that, The Elder Scrolls games always have great music, and I’m actually a big fan of Eve’s soundtrack.

Most memorable moment in a game:

Probably the intro scenes to Bioshock. That blew me away at the time, and I still rewatch it sometimes.

capture_25052010_113202

Scariest moment in a game:

Hiding in Amnesia: The Dark Descent.

Most heart-wrenching moment in a game:

Walking Dead again I’m afraid. The ending was a real tear jerker. To this date, that is the only game that’s ever made me cry.

What are your favourite websites/blogs about games?

The news sights I use are Rock Paper Shotgun and Massively. There are too many blogs to name.

What is the last game you finished?

The Witcher

What future releases are you most excited about?

The Witcher 3, Star Citizen (maybe) and The Repopulation. I’m not big on pining for games that are going to come out, so I don’t devote too much thought to this.

TheWitcher2-AssassinsofKings_Multi_Editeur_040

Do you identify as a gamer?

Not really. If someone said “are you a gamer?” I’d say yes. But I don’t identify as being a gamer, anymore than I identify with being a driver, or a breather of oxygen.

Why do you play video games?

For entertainment, relaxation, and to obtain experiences unlike any I’ve ever had before. Occasionally I play for narrative, but only in the case of some exceptionally well written games.

7 thoughts on “Gaming Questionnaire

  1. I almost chose The Walking Dead’s (season 1) ending for my heart-wrenching moment, but elected for the opening scene in The Last of Us. Both were equally emotional for me.

    Like

    • I have unfortunately not had the chance to play The Last of Us yet, as I don’t have a Playstation. But, I’ve watched that intro, and wow, that’s an emotional beginning.

      Like

      • It has a lot of emotional moments. It’s probably the only game I’ve ever played that really could elicit emotion from me. I don’t usually get attached to characters, it’s just a game and will end after all. But The Last of Us managed to be a motion picture wrapped up in a game, and the story-telling was phenomenal. Now that there’s a PS4 version, I’d say it’s worth a console purchase alone. Of course, you’ll get other cool exclusives to that system as time goes on.

        Like

      • Fortunately I can borrow a PS3 off a friend. Just haven’t got around to it yet. I think it says a lot that the only exclusive title for the PlayStation that interested me this much came at the very end of that console cycle. One game in how many years?

        I’ve just accepted that I’m done with consoles. I don’t feel like they are aiming for me as a consumer anymore either.

        Like

      • Most people probably feel that way. I think exclusivity is dumb, which you wrote about and we talked about on the podcast last week. I still have a love for consoles that won’t die, so yeah, I’ll be getting a PS4 eventually. No Man’s Sky dude!

        Like

Leave a Reply

