My Gaming History

                                                                                                                      c64terminator

Lately I’ve started listening to the Beyond Bossfights podcast over at Braxwolf’s site, and have found myself greatly enjoying his opening question for guests, which is to ask them to explain their gaming history. So, I thought that doing the same might be a nice way to introduce myself somewhat.

My first experience of gaming was when I was lucky enough to receive a Commodore 64 for Christmas at around age four or five. I have many fond memories of playing cartridge games such as Flimbo’s Quest, and Rick Dangerous, but always recall having great difficulty getting the cassette games to work correctly (yeah that’s right, cassette; how crazy does that seem now?). I’d rush in from school, put a cassette game on to load, go eat dinner, play outside for a while, and hope against hope that it hadn’t crashed on the loading screen. Fun times.

After that I went through much of the same Nintendo experiences as everyone else did in the early 90’s when I received a Super Nintendo Entertainment System, once again for Christmas. Super Mario, Donkey Kong Country, Super Metroid, Mario Kart, Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter 2 are my most vivid memories from that time. Aside, of course, from furious arguments in the playground about which system was better, Nintendo’s or Sega (pro tip: it was whichever your parents bought you).

I followed the Nintendo trail right up to the Gamecube in early adulthood (I always back winners), where I first began to spend an unreasonable amount of income on video games (thanks student loans). I still to this day think that some of the most interesting and innovative titles of that console generation were developed for the Gamecube: Eternal Darkness, Metroid Prime, Donkey Konga (which was basically a forerunner to  rhythm games like Guitar Hero), Pikmin, Viewtiful Joe, Killer 7, and many other interesting titles.

Although I’ve owned both a Wii and an Xbox 360 since then, neither fully captured my imagination for very long, and I’ve been a complete PC player for the last eight years or so, after only playing on PCs at sporadic points throughout my life. I am now a fully paid up, card carrying member of the PC gaming master race. There are innumerable PC games and MMOs I could talk about here but I’ll save that for another post, as this is already getting pretty long.

Anyway, I hope this has served as a brief introduction to my gaming history and background.

Leave a Reply

